Mademoiselle Chanel by C.W. Gortner | Review

“My life didn’t please me, so I created my life.” ~ Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel Book Description Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from … More Mademoiselle Chanel by C.W. Gortner | Review

The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian | Review

In The Sandcastle Girls, Chris Bohjalian weaves a “spellbinding tale…between Aleppo, Syria, in 1915 and Bronxville, New York, in 2012—a sweeping historical love story steeped in the author’s Armenian heritage, making it his most personal novel to date.” ~Synopsis for Hardcover edition via Goodreads Book Description One woman’s journey into her family’s past reveals a shocking story that … More The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian | Review

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and a Culture at Risk by JD Vance | Review

Advance Praise for Hillbilly Elegy #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER You will not read a more important book about America this year. ~~The Economist   A riveting book. ~~The Wall Street Journal   Essential reading. ~~David Brooks, New York Times Book Description From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in … More Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and a Culture at Risk by JD Vance | Review

Potential Christmas Gift Books from Tyndale House Publishers

Synopsis:  Each morning when you arise, take a moment to talk with God about the day ahead. Ask Him to prepare your heart so that you can be ready to face any challenge that comes your way. 365 Pocket Morning Prayers can guide this time of life-changing conversation and help you express your needs and … More Potential Christmas Gift Books from Tyndale House Publishers

Alice & Oliver by Charles Bock | Review

A heart-breaking, page-turning, life-affirming novel about love, marriage, family, and fighting for your life, for readers of Jonathan Franzen and Meg Wolitzer. Alice Culvert is a force: passionate, independent, smart, and gorgeous, she—to her delight—attracts attention wherever she goes, even amid the buzz of mid-90s New York. In knee-high boots, with her newborn daughter, Doe, … More Alice & Oliver by Charles Bock | Review